top of page

Week 26 – Humboldt Fog take 2! Guest starring Paul, Jade, Dominic, and Byron

Congratulations! You’ve made it with me to the halfway mark! Time flies when you’re eating good cheese I guess. I was going to use this week as a cop out, going back and looking at the cheeses that we’ve been through up to this point (I’m still including that list), but I had folks over for Game of Thrones night, and Paul and Jade were kind enough to bring a wheel of Humboldt Fog along. Now, I didn’t love Humboldt Fog for first go, but others did so it’s worth revisiting. Since I’ve already kind of gone over the specifics of the cheese in week 21, I’ll just let the quotes from the evening do the talking for me (and it may not sound like it from these sound bites, but everyone really liked it a lot, we put a good hurt into that wheel).

“Tastes like fleet week” -Domninic

“If I close my eyes it kind of tastes like Cheez Wiz.” -Byron

“…I actually totally understand that.” -Jade

“The creaminess is the part that rings true, a little ashy, a little crumbly” -Jade

“It’s kind of mysterious…like fog itself...” -Dominic

As you can see we were all deeply pensive about this cheese.

Those quotes might be attributed to the wrong people, that's what happens when you write down the quotes and not who said them. Whoops!

Halfway through the year and here’s a list of all (55!) different cheeses I’ve tried so far. Here’s to another an equally excellent 26 weeks!

Week 1: Scharfe Maxx Week 2: Extra Aged Gouda, Gruyere Week 3: Whiskey Cheddar Week 4: Baked Brie Week 5: 1,000 day Gouda, Italian Truffle, Blueberry Vanilla Chevre, Beccher’s Flagship Cheddar Week 6: Fromager d’Affinois with Garlic and Herb Cheddar, Hopyard Cheddar Week 7: Ubriaco Al Vino Week 8: Irish Porter Cheddar, Winey Goat Week 9 pt.1 : Mahon, Wensleydale with Apricots, Montchevre Goat with Honey, Fondue Week 9 pt. 2: Oscar Wilde Irish Cheddar, Cambozla Week 10: Sharp White Cheddar Week 11: Vella Dry Jack Week 12: Tillamook Cheddar, Blarney Castle mild Gouda, cream Havarti Week 13: Manchego, Mt. Townsend Creamery’s Seastack, Cypress Grove Cherve’s Midnight Moon Week 14: Old Croc Sharp Cheddar Week 15: Bust – two cheese’s I’d already reviewed Week 16: Kerrygold’s Aged Cheddar vs. Skellig Sweet Cheddar Week 17: Cream cheese Week 18: Schloss, Montealva, Bear Hill Week 19: Creamy Toscano soaked in Syrah Week 20: Brigante, Taleggio, Fresco Verde Week 21: Garlic and Herb Goat, Rosemary and Olive Oil Asaigo, Idiazabal, Humboldt Fog Week 22: Smoked Gouda, Dill Havarti Week 23: Pierre Robert Week 24: Les Trois Comtois Comté, Fontina Fontal, Springbrook Farm’s Reading, Springbrook Farm’s Tarentaise Week 25: Port Salut, Garrotxa, Piave Vecchio, Costwold

Stay cheesy my friends!


bottom of page